Nicholas O'Hara Funeral Directors

511 reviews

  • 5 Jerry Green 28th Nov 2020

    Very grateful and pleased to hand over the practical aspects of a funeral to Nicholas O'Hara and Anthony. Once instructed they took care of everything and were always contactable with any queries. My mum was give a lovely and dignified send off. Thank you.

  • 5 Ruth Norwood 25th Nov 2020

    Nicholas O'Hara looked after us for my dad's funeral in 2018 and I had no hesitation in asking them again last month when my dear mum passed away. From the moment you call them they are by your side guiding you gently through all that has to be dealt with. They are kind, thoughtful and understanding, supporting you every step of the way at what is such a sad and difficult time. Their dignity and professionalism on the day of my mum's service ensured everything ran smoothly and we could not have asked for a more moving and fitting farewell. Thank you to everyone at Nicholas O'Hara.

  • 5 Carolyn Stewart 24th Nov 2020

    They dealt with all the arrangements very professionally & sympathetically. Every detail was carried out with the utmost care, which we really appreciated.  We cannot thank them all enough

  • 5 Heather Rees 24th Nov 2020

    When you lose someone very close to have such wonderful support from Nick O’Hara himself and all his staff to help you with all the decisions you need to make at a difficult time this is so much appreciated. Nick himself is so very caring and supportive, keeping in touch along the way and also his staff do everything to help and make things easier for you. I couldn’t wish for a better company to deal with as they provide an excellent service in every way. My heartfelt thanks to all.

  • 5 David Ivall 17th Nov 2020

    Managed the whole thing impeccably 

  • 5 Clive Buswell 16th Nov 2020

    Thoughtful, caring, understanding, attention to detail. During an incredibly difficult time they were always available to support, organise and reassure which takes a weight off your mind.

  • 4 Gill and Kevin Arnold 13th Nov 2020

    Philip dealt with the funeral arrangements in a professional and friendly manner. Due to living a long distance from Nick O’Hara’s, all the arrangements were made by telephone, and everything went as smoothly as possible. Philip kept me updated all the time, despite the changes involved  going into lockdown halfway through the arrangements. Our family have used Nick O’Hara’s services on several occasions, and would have no hesitation in recommending them.

  • 5 Matthew Cherry 12th Nov 2020

    My family lost my Dear Dad Jim Cherry on Good Friday 10th April 2020 at 80 year's young. Obviously, theses have been unprecedented times and I was grateful to be able to care for Dad at home during his last days. Nothing prepares you for losing a loved one and Dad was the world to us and you only want what’s best for them in life and then on the final journey. This is where Nicholas O’Hara funeral directors was so valuable. The professional and compassionate way in which they looked after Dad was nothing but outstanding. Even the smallest touches were so well thought out. It was the hardest thing I have ever had to experienced. Knowing Dad had to be taken from the family home. But I need not worry as Dad was looked after with the respect and dignity Dad deserved. The planning of the funeral was handled throughout in a manner in which I made the decisions, but these were implemented by Anthony O'Hara seamlessly. My brother and I along with Dominic visited Dad in the chapel of rest. Dad would have been so proud in how smart he looked, as was I. Even the beautiful touches of the Catholic markings on the coffin made Dad at home. The day of the funeral was tough and was made tougher by the restrictions in place. Only ten people were allowed to attend. Which wasn’t right for my Dad as he deserved so much more. Instead Dad was seen off from home by all those who could not attend. Dad was taken to the service in a beautiful silver jaguar hearse. Everything 0’Hara funeral directors did was special. The colour of the hearse, the navy suit’s. It felt individual, it felt special for Dad the way it should be and the way he deserved to be honoured. The service was streamed on the Web, something which would have made Dad laugh about but also feel slightly embarrassed. Dad was a humble English gentleman. Anthony O’Hara organised for a copy to be downloaded for us to keep. Alongside beautiful memorial cards of Dad. All completely unexpected. It has taken me until now to pluck up the courage to face writing a review. But it is only right I do so not only to honour my Dad, but to give others the opportunity to give their loved ones the best final journey. Then just before remembrance Sunday l received a letter from O’Hara funeral directors. Inside was another card of Dad within a ‘least we forget envelope' and a packet of Poppy seeds. Yes this brought me to tears, as this was such a poignant and unsuspecting surprised. My Dad always proudly attended remembrance Sunday and this was a special day of the year for him. Just this small gesture meant so much and thus made me realise it’s time to give others the opportunity to read this review. I would wholeheartedly recommend O’Hara funeral directors and if you are reading this review then may I express my condolences as I know how hard this time in life is. God speed Dad, and may you rest in peace.

  • 5 David Carter 10th Nov 2020

    Excellent service and very efficient.

  • 5 Roger and Pat Cox 9th Nov 2020

    An extremely kind, thoughtful and supportive service at such a difficult time

  • 5 Diane Gillespie 6th Nov 2020

    All the staff at Nicholas O'Hara were so kind, sympathetic and helpful when Mum passed away but special thanks to Rory. He was absolutely wonderful and made the process of Mum's funeral so easy and straightforward. He phoned often to let me know what was happening and asked if I had any questions or needed anything. The funeral itself was exactly what I wanted for Mum. I cannot praise Nicholas O'Hara enough for all they did and would not hesitate to recommend them.

  • 5 Judith Kimber 31st Oct 2020

    The service was superb from start to finish and helped us get through a very difficult time.   Chris Johnson and Natalie were both professional and empathetic in their preparations, and the ceremony itself was delivered by Chris Antell with the perfect combination of respect, warmth and humour.

  • 5 Rosemary & Keith Landon 24th Oct 2020

    I honestly cannot  recommend the team highly enough. At every step they were wonderful and made a heartbreaking time far easier to deal with. Every person we came into contact with was caring and compassionate and even managed to make us smile. They are simply amazing at what they do. 

  • 5 Sylvia Baggs 20th Oct 2020

    I can not find a single fault . You made a very sad day  Into some times joyous if that’s the right word. Chris Antell is wonderful and perfect . Must also mention Rory for looking after us so well .Thankyou all Sylvia Baggs

  • 5 Anne Dyson 19th Oct 2020

    O’Hara promote their work as ‘our family is here for your family’. They absolutely lived up to that promise, from our first contact with them, through to the service, and beyond. We really valued their guiding hand as we prepared for Mum’s memorial service, helping us with preparations, offering wise guidance, and supporting as we drafted our tributes. Their support on the day was amazing. Everyone that you meet at O’Hara is so professional, smart, and quietly respectful. We knew that Mum was in excellent hands, they were simply superb.

  • 5 Janeta Waltham 11th Oct 2020

    Wonderful service, very professional in every aspect.

  • 5 Karen Hayes 9th Oct 2020

    The respect and dignity shown by the whole team is nothing short of outstanding. They helped make a very difficult time more bearable. Thank-you

  • 5 Julia Palmer 5th Oct 2020

    As usual with your team, the whole handling of the service, from the outset through to the interment, was seamless. Chris made dealing with arrangements extremely easy, and on the day was attentive and helpful without being overbearing. The actual service was handled with due reverence, sensitivity and respect for both the deceased and the mourners. All concerned were delighted with the Order of Service, which was beautifully prepared, and the Memory cards. The choice of music was exactly what we had asked for. As ever, excellent service, and I shall continue to be very happy to recommend you wholeheartedly.

  • 5 Tina Wakefield 4th Oct 2020

    Rory was sensitive kind and patient informative and knowledgeable. Thank you from rosemary and myself

  • 5 Mark Shannon 28th Sep 2020

    Philip and team were very thoughtful, responsive and helpful throughout the process of arranging my father's cremation. Thanks to all.

  • 5 Karen Reed 28th Sep 2020

    I cannot thank Nicholas O’Hara enough they went above & beyond for my father's funeral. They made a difficult & upsetting time bearable with their support compassion & help.

  • 5 Jacqueline Myers 27th Sep 2020

    They were extremely professional with every aspect and Phillip was such a support with almost daily contact.  The extra touches they added Helped  to make a perfect funeral in this covid situation.  I would 100% recommend their services and their wonderful jaguar hearse and cars .

  • 5 Sadie Paradise 24th Sep 2020

    Fantastic service and felt reassured throughout the difficult process of organising a funeral.

  • 5 Maureen Gray 19th Sep 2020

    Very kind and helpful staff.

  • 5 Steven Jeans 18th Sep 2020

    These people are so professional and kind , seamless and some great little touches ??